Hertfordshire students named as Physicists of the Year

Sixty-eight students were named as Hertfordshire Physicists of the Year at an event sponsored by the Ogden Trust

Year nine and 12 students from maintained, academy and independent schools across the county had their hard work and achievements in physics rewarded at a special ceremony, held at the University of Hertfordshire, after being nominated for the award by their teachers.  

Organiser James Hough, Professor of Astrophysics at the University, said: “the event aimed to recognise the achievements of the physics students, and it is all made possible by the generosity of the Ogden Trust, a charity that promotes the teaching and learning of physics.” 

“Physics studies both the smallest and largest objects in the universe, from fundamental particles – such as the Higgs Boson – to huge galaxies.  It also plays a key role in everyday life, from many of the key components of the ubiquitous smart phone to much of the equipment in hospitals such as MRI scanners and X-ray machines.

“Although physics had made enormous advances in the last hundred years, there is still much we don’t know; for example what most of the universe is made of and the many mysteries of the quantum world. These outstanding students, who we honoured tonight, are the people who could be pushing back the boundaries of science or discovering new ways of improving our everyday lives”.

The certificates of achievement and book tokens were awarded by Professor Sean Ryan, Dean of the School of Physics, Astronomy & Mathematics, who congratulated all of the students for their hard work. 

The winners 

  • Beaumont School, St Albans 
  • Berkhamsted School 
  • Birchwood High School, Bishop’s Stortford 
  • The Bishop’s Stortford High School 
  • The Cavendish School, Hemel Hempstead 
  • The Da Vinci School of Science and Engineering, Stevenage 
  • The Elstree UTC 
  • Haberdashers’ Aske’s Boys’ School, Borehamwood 
  • The Hemel Hempstead School 
  • Hitchin Girls School 
  • Hockerill Anglo-European College, Bishop’s Stortford 
  • The John Warner School, Hoddesdon 
  • The Knights Templar School, Baldock 
  • Loreto College St Albans 
  • Monk’s Walk School, Welwyn Garden City 
  • The Nobel School, Stevenage 
  • Princess Helena College, Hitchen 
  • Roundwood Park School, Harpenden 
  • The Royal Masonic School for Girls, Rickmansworth 
  • Rudolf Steiner School, Kings Langley 
  • St Albans School 
  • St Clement Danes School, Chorleywood 
  • St Michael’s Catholic High School, Watford 
  • Townsend C of E School, St Albans 
  • Tring School 
  • Watford Grammar School for Girls 
  • The Watford UTC 
  • Yavneh College, Borehamwood  


Send an Invite...

Would you like to share this event with your friends and colleagues?

Would you like to share this report with your friends and colleagues?

You may enter up to three email addresses below to share this report